Cleaning a rifle and selecting rods,brushes,jags,and solvents

Rem9671

Any tips,advice,step by step procedures to clean a rifle,select rods,brushes,jags solvents.
Best brush and rod material to prevent damage to bore.Any solvents that are harmful to the rifle?
Will multi piece rods or bronze or brass brushes,jags scratch or nick the bore?

I'm gonna tag in here and ask what's the difference in the little plastic patch holders vs. a jag? I only ever used the patch holders, that's what they shoved in the cleaning kit in the buttstock of our m16-a2, but that one wasnt plastic, so when I graduated to real life that's what I went and bought.

For me, it was just the way I was taught to clean rifles
My cleaning regiment is as follows:
-clear rifle and remove bolt
-use boretech carbon on a jag, push saturated patch through
-nylon brush scrub, wait 5-10
-run 3 saturated patches, wait 15min
-push clean patch, if it is clean, proceed, if not, run another 3 saturated patches
-once the patch comes clean, I grab my copper remover and do the same regiment

Wipe the the bolt down, grease the back of the lugs.
Wipe the mag well and bolt area.
Insert bolt and done

I use bore tech eliminator. Follow instructions listed above (on bottle). I use Dewey cleaning rod but bore tech rods would be where I would go now. Bore tech products are great and safe for bore. I have Lucas bore guide.

I clean when I start to see accuracy go away. Each gun is different. If you use bullet coatings , you can usually shoot an entire agg (50- 75 rounds).
Patch size is dependent on shape and diameter of jag. I use a .22 jag for every cal. up to 30. I just use larger patches, or stick them off center to get the proper snugness.
I use only quality patches, Pro-Shot, or Sinclair.
I use a good quality bronze brush like Dewey, and I run it both directions, but I am careful exiting the muzzle.
I use Iosso at the end of every agg to keep the carbon from forming.