Case capacity 280AI

Discussion in 'Reloading' started by newmexkid, Oct 16, 2019.


Help Support Long Range Hunting by donating:


  1. newmexkid

    newmexkid Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    949
    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    So, the other day I fireformed 48 cases with 52.0 grs. IMR 4350 and 140 gr bullets. According to the Sierra manual, this was about 2 grs. under max for a 280. Today I took a new 280 case and filled it up to the top with 4831sc and did the same with a fireformed case. The fireformed case held almost 3 grs. more of the powder. Would you say this sounds about right? Been loading for many years but, this is my first Ackley.
     
  2. co_nucleus

    co_nucleus Member LRH Team Member

    Messages:
    15
    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2019
    Don't remember where I read it - something like 5% more case capacity for the 280 Ackley vs 280 Rem. 3 grains more seems about right.
     
  3. TOM H

    TOM H Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    1,196
    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2001
    This may not help. I shoot 280AI Spec and I use Nosler brass and I do have wildcat 280AI non spec and use Rem brass. I took new cases 280/280AI and I filled both with IMR-7828ssc and difference was little over 4 gr.

    I have 35 WhelenAI and I purchase about 300 new Rem 35 Whelen cases. I took new case/fired form and difference was little over 4gr and filled using R-15.

    I've got 243AI and that one difference is 2.9gr.

    I do think it varies
     
  4. newmexkid

    newmexkid Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    949
    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Thanks. Just trying to do things right the first time.
     
  5. 26Reload

    26Reload Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    1,387
    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2016
    I think you have to preform a better test for yourself...
    Unless you are cramming that powder in to fill air pockets...just too many air pockets....i would do a water test...or use as absolutely fine powder to do the test....make sure to tap it so it all lays down tight or your wasting time....
    In my 280ai I am using a lite load of 55gr of 4831sc in multiple fired 280ai nosler brass...2630fps....22" barrel...168lrab...rifle is a mtn rifle noodle barrel.....over 55gr and the scope wears out the hat brim too quickly.......
     
  6. TOM H

    TOM H Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    1,196
    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2001
    280AI is spec now. I never did mine until now and been loading for it 7yrs now. I'm running 160's in 3000fps range.
     
  7. newmexkid

    newmexkid Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    949
    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    I'll do a water test tomorrow and also a test with finer powder.
     
    co_nucleus and 26Reload like this.