bolt lug contact

Remove the bolt from your rifle, hold the bolt in one hand letting gravity do the rest, look at the back of the bolt lugs, they are painted black. How much silver do you see? Take a peek at jb's .25-06 for sale he has two pics of a 100% contact bolt.

Ok. Here is what I have. To me, it looks even from one to the other. Mabe 75% contact. Is the % of contact important to accuracy or the evenness from one to the other?
352685.JPG
352683.JPG

Galling-scoring,pulling metal from one surface to another.Like I said Harv,Im no expert but the bottom pic looks like theres good even contact with slight galling at the top (outer edge) of the lug.The top pic isnt showing quite the same smooth contact as the bottom pic.Hopefully Fifty or someone else with a little more knowledge will see your pics posted and comment.

Harv, 100% bolt contact is important for accuracy. The contact lets the bolt react the same for every shot as I understand it, otherwise your lock up varies from shot to shot effecting accuracy. /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/shocked.gif

Harv,

First off, what is that bolt out of? Looks like a Sako bolt as there is a sako extractor to the left of the lug in the first pic, or at least looks like one.

Could be a Rem 700 with a Sako fitted but the guide groove looks to large in the right lug. Also, the groove behind the lugs on the bolt body is not right for a Rem 700 unless it has been altered.

Anyway, the lug contact appears to be relatively even. I would say in the 70-75% range. On the leading edge of the lugs, Right side in the pics, there is a cam machined which is why that area does not contact the receiver when the bolt is locked, this is desirable and should not be machined out.

On the left side of each lug there is that triangle pattern on the bottom of the lug surface.