Bear Bating

huntaxhunta

Anybody got ways to lure bears to your area? I am opportuned to hunt in AR.
There are bears in this part of the state we just don't know about this ground. I'm not a pro bear hunter but I'm going to give it heck.
Want to know how to bait bears....I'm asking the experts. Thanks

If you have a discount bread store near you, buy a truck load of the old cheapest bread they have. Then see if you can get grease/waste oil from a donut shop or fast food joint (any place with a fryer) Dependent on your states rules of course, but that is what we do up here in north idaho. I like to bury a lot of it in a large hole about 4' in diameter and leave some on the surface. If there's bears in the area they will be on it within a few days.

Anybody got ways to lure bears to your area? I am opportuned to hunt in AR.
There are bears in this part of the state we just don't know about this ground. I'm not a pro bear hunter but I'm going to give it heck.
Want to know how to bait bears....I'm asking the experts. Thanks
Been guiding for 35 years.Sweets have worked best.Hang old fish in a tree.The smell will start them coming in.Get some brush and lay it in such away the bear will give you a good shot when going for the bait.Wear rubber gloves and boots to keep your scent down when around the bait sight.Get a bag of some kind with bait and place it higher in a tree each time you bait to get an idea of how big the bear is coming in Good luck

Depending on how long you bait (months) best if you change the menu a few times. They love sweets, bit I've found that they will leave the bait for a high protine food source (acorns) ... change up your bait mix a few times and you will hold them longer.

Depending on how long you bait (months) best if you change the menu a few times. They love sweets, bit I've found that they will leave the bait for a high protine food source (acorns) ... change up your bait mix a few times and you will hold them longer.