Barrel clearance

Bob S.

How much clearance is recommended between the stock and barrel? I want to make sure I have enough so as not to cause problems with heat/harmonics. I have one with about 1/8 inch, several that a dollar bill will easily slide the length of the barrel, and a couple that are much tighter than that. All shoot fine ecxept one of the really tight ones. I haven't figured out if its interference or the load. Wanted to rule out any interference first.

Cowboy
Let me start by saying I am by no means an expert. That said I personally like to leave a little extra room between a wood stock and a barrel. (1/16" - 1/8") Wood being the least stable type of stock tends to move more than others.

With a laminate or synthetic stock I think a tighter fit is ok as they are more stable. (dollar bill -1/16") The exception being the barrel burners that need all the space they can get for cooling purposes.
Just my .02
Chris

I'm making a stock for a marlin Lil Buckaroo for my son and I chose a gap that is about 1/8". I thought It was a little extreme looking but I'm glad to find it's not so far fetched. I understand that a single shot .22 isn't going to heat up and that if the stock dosen't touch the barrel then it dosen't matter if it is by a milimeter or a foot. Not touching is not touching. I am mostly building a scaled down version of a design I will build for myself someday.

All that being said, I think a 1/8" gap is sensible and if done well it can look good.

In my sporter weight rifles I generally give the barrel about 0.030" clearance which is plenty for fine accuracy and appearance as well. If the customer wants more I will give what they want but I do not like going much less.

For my heavies or extreme range rifles, I will give 1/16" clearance(0.0625").