Anyone with a 25-06ai please grab your callipers!

orch

I've been shooting and loading for my 2 25-06ai's for 5 years and only really noticed a big (I don't really no if it's a big problem or not since the rifles both shoot quite well inspite of what if have discovered to have been doing for years) problem with my full length die....

Problem is the my full length die squeezes the shoulder diameter over 0.006" smaller before I can achieve 0.002" shoulder bump.

Fired cases from both guns measure 0.455" diameter at the shoulder body junction
(Measured 10 cases fired in each gun and they all measure this exactly)

Cases full length sized in my Redding fl die measure 0.449"
That seems excessive to me and I really started noticing that there is a lot of resistance in the sizing stroke and even with adequate imperial sizing wax it leaves a rough ridge on the shoulder/body junction.

If anyone else shooting a 25-06ai would be kind enough to measure some fired and full length sized cases that may help me determine if my barrels were cut with an out of spec reamer or if my full length die is out of spec... I found some saami case dimension specs for the 280ai and it shows 0.4550" as the shoulder diameter so I think it may be that my die is too tight

With my original gun that I got 5 years ago I would always just neck size until I started getting tight chambering then I'd aneal and full length size which was about every 5th firing on the brass... By about the 8th firing primer pockets started getting loose so I tossed the lot so I really only had to full length size once per life time of a lot of brass. I can't really recall the brass being hard to resizes at the time, maybe annealing made it eassier?

Got my second gun last year, shoots the exact same load equally as well... I tried to keep the brass for each gun separate but inevitably got them mixed up... Using a Hornady case comparator the new gun's head space is 0.002" longer than the old gun...