Anyone shoot a 7mm-08 - 154gn SST Load?

idfishnhunt

I've had pretty good success shooting a 139gn SST out of our 7mm-08's. I'd like to work on developing a load for the 154gn SST. Looking at the ballistic data though it doesn't seem like I'm gaining a lot by jumping up in bullet grain size.

With the 154gn I lose velocity, and with this loss the added energy I would have gained actually pretty much evens out with the same numbers I get from a faster 139gn bullet.

I am somewhat new at reloading, but I am trying to determine if I will actually have any advantages with using the 154gn bullet, or maybe I should just stick to the 139gn.

Thanks for any comments or suggestions.

I have the 708 in an Ackley Improved. I have been shooting the AB 140 at 2950 fps. I have some of the SST 154s but haven't tried them yet. I am shooting 44g of RL 15. The gun has enough accuracy shoot 600 years safely at deer sized game. I have been interested in trying them, but my 3/4" groups at a good speed just don't spur me to experiment.

Let me know how it turns out.

I'm getting 2840 fps using 47gns of IMR4350 right now. I was going to try H4350, Varget, and I might have to try that RL15, sounds like a pretty good load.

I've thought about the Accubonds and Interbonds, but for the price of the SST's and as much shooting as I do, it's a tough change to have to make.

I'm getting 2840 fps using 47gns of IMR4350 right now. I was going to try H4350, Varget, and I might have to try that RL15, sounds like a pretty good load.

I've thought about the Accubonds and Interbonds, but for the price of the SST's and as much shooting as I do, it's a tough change to have to make.

The RL15 did really well for me. The max load in nosler for a standard 708 is 41.5 grains. I'm at 44 because of the extra case capacity of the ackley cartridge.

I loaded for a friend of mine and his used 42 grains and went about 2850.