accurizing savage rifle

tribalman

Hi everyone.

My question, is there any real benefit to accurizing a new savage rifle. Back ground. I purchased a model 116 in 7mm rem mag. My main duty for this gun will be whitetail deer hunting. Most people say, you only need to shoot a 6in group at 100yds for whitetails. I dont believe that and expect higher standards. I will be taking it out tomorrow to shoot for the first. I expect to shoot on average between 100 and 300 yds. Ive been shooting and hunting for over 20 yrs and hope to extend my range for hunting in the future.
thanks for any advice.

Hi everyone.

My question, is there any real benefit to accurizing a new savage rifle. Back ground. I purchased a model 116 in 7mm rem mag. My main duty for this gun will be whitetail deer hunting. Most people say, you only need to shoot a 6in group at 100yds for whitetails. I dont believe that and expect higher standards. I will be taking it out tomorrow to shoot for the first. I expect to shoot on average between 100 and 300 yds. Ive been shooting and hunting for over 20 yrs and hope to extend my range for hunting in the future.
thanks for any advice.

I would not except less than 1 MOA (1'' @ 100 yards). Mose savages are capable of that or better
with the right ammo.

A 6'' group at 100 yards could very well be a miss at 200 yards.

If the rifle does not do better than around 1'' then It would pay to have it checked out buy a
good Gunsmith for his opinion as to what it should have done to it.

Remember, A 1'' group at 100 yards can become a 3'' group under hunting conditions and a 6''
group---well?

J E CUSTOM

i think it takes 5 things to make an accurate rifle....

good light trigger
stock bedded correctly
great scope
handloaded ammo
and keep the barrel clean between shots is the most important

My question, is there any real benefit to accurizing a new savage rifle.