A Bolt for long range?

dsmer4ever

Hello, I'm new to the sight but not to hunting and shooting. I am interested in doing some work to my A bolt to make it a more proficient long rang rig. It's a stainless stalker in 300wsm, I use it for everything from deer to moose and im starting to do some long range target shooting now.
My question is, is this a good platform to start out on? What should I start looking in to as far as upgrades for Browning goes?
The rifle will put three shots right around a inch apart at 100 yards as is. I've only added a limbsaver recoil pad.
I also own a Browning Eclipse M1000 in 22.250, the two rifles are kind of on the opposite ends of the scale. One is light with a shorter barrel while the other is heavy with a long heavy target barrel.
Should I build the 300 like the 22.250? The Eclipse shoots much better compared to the 300. I'd love to get the 300 working like the 22 in terms of accuracy but still be able to comfortly carry it hunting with me.
Any input would be very appreciated.
Thank you

You will probably find that there are relatively few accessories offered for your browning. It will be harder to find someone to make you a match barrel. You might find it impossible to change a part like the bolt from the factory configuration if Browning refuses to sell you parts for a caliber conversion.

Clones of the Rem 700 action are the most popular and most are very well made (Stiller, Pierce, Surgeon, BAT, Lawton and the list goes on..)

One of the problems with working with a "factory" Remington action is that by the time it has been accurised the barrel tenon is non standard and sometimes the action timing is messed up. From that point of view, a custom action should always be standardized and things like the primary extraction should be perfectly timed. The clones will have the largest number of trigger, base and stock options out there.