7mm UM Loads

Mike Liane

I'm looking for some ideas on load development for a 7mmUM in a 700 Sendero with a factory stainless flutted barrel. I'm thinking of starting out with the 162 A-Max. I picked up some Retumbo. Has this powder turned out to be the optimum for this caliber? I know there were some delays in it's release last year. I am willing to compromise and sacrifice a little speed if it will mean a longer throat life, but I want to play at 1000 yards or slightly more. I won't use it much beyond prarie dogs or coyotes. Should it have a run at the lands? I've heard of problems seating too close to the lands and a short run. Any tips that may speed up my load development would be appreciated. Mike.

Well this probably won't be much help but I shoot a sendero 7mm ultra also. I have only been shooting for about 6 months so I am no professional, also I have been shooting different bullets. I have been shooting 160gr sierra gamekings with Retumbo at .010 off the lands. I have only shot about 80 of them and loads with only 89 grains have shot better than the faster loads. I can shoot a 6 inch group at 500 yds with them. I just got some 168 matchkings I'll be trying now. I'm still searching for a good load too, I may want to try the A-max also.

FYI, Hodgdon publishes an annual reloading manual for about $12. The 2004 version has loads for almost all of the new Ultra/WSM versions. For a 7MM RUM with a 24 inch barrel and 162 AMAX using Retumbo as a powder it shows:

Start: 89 GR - 3009 fps (162 Hornady Spire Point)
Max: 95 GR - 3223 fps

The AMAX likes to be seated into the lands. I would use a Stoney Point seating depth gauge, a magic marker, smoke from a candle or whatever works for you and find a seating depth of ~0.005 into the lands for your chamber.

Then I would start with loads using 89 grains of Retumbo and work up using the ladder method. (You can find the ladder method on this web site by doing a search.)