7MM Loads

bohe

I just started shooting my Remington 700 Boone & Crockett 7 Rem. Mag.(9 1/4 twist).I had planned on re-chambering it to 7STW,but I think I will shoot it for awhile like this and see how it works.I picked up some Sierra 160 HPBTs today.I'm wondering if any body has any good loads for starters.
Thanks

for varmints 120gr v-max rl-22 it shoots great out of my rem 700 for big game 140 or 160gr nosler partition i use rl-22 and imr 4350 i haven't use the bullet you have
icon5.gif

When I reload my Ruger Mark II in 7mm Rem mag..With 160 grain bullets I have found that either H1000 or RL-22 works great. My gun has a long throat so I hesitate to tell you the loads that I use. Get on Alliant web site and go to 7mm Rem Mag. they will give you loads for different bullet weights using RL-19,22, and 25. I love the RL-22 when I am shooting 160 grain bullets. I have an elk load that consists of 160 Barnes TSX , RL-22, RP cases, and WLRM primers. It will shoot .5 group any time you want. the velocity of this load is just under 3000 ft/sec..

When I am shooting for fun I love the 140 Nosler Bt and either IMR-4831 or IMR-4350. I use a starting load of IMR-4831 (62.0 grains)which in my gun only produces about 2900 ft/sec. This load is very accurate and is very easy on the shooter.

I have been shooting 7mm mag for 35 years. It is a wonderful caliber. My suggestions for starting loads is to go to: Sierra Bullets - The Bulletsmiths and start with their suggested starting loads and work up from there. 4831 is perhaps the most versatile powder I have used in the 7mm, but I have found myself loading H870, H414, IMR 4350, RL22 etc. You will find differences in IMR 4831 and H4831.

You will find Alliant's RL22 recipe at www.alliantbullets.com, but I suggest you back off at least 3 grains for a starting load and work up from there.

I also shoot a .280 Rem and find that I see pressure signs about 2.5 grains back of max loads from most manuals in that particular weapon.