7MM STW loads?

huntokanogan

I just bought a Remington 700 BDL 7mm STW. I have no experience with re-loading this caliber. Does anybody out there have a rem 700 STW? If so what bullets and powder does it like?
I was thinking heavier bullets?
I bought a box of Berger 168 grn. VDL's but was thinking I might want to go into the 175-180 grn. range?
Let me know what works for you.
Also, this gun is going to be used to hunt mule deer at ranges, not competition shooting so I need a good hunting round.

One more thing: I can't find the twist rate of this gun. It has a factory barrel. Anybody know what it is?​

Last edited:
I am a longtime fan of that caliber, Hence my screne name. I never did experiment with 168 bergers, but wish that I did. My load was 79.3-rl22 140 nosler CT bullet. Velocity was 3289 with 12fps std deviation and 6 fps extreme spread. It DON't get any better. That rifle shot .250 groups ANY day. I did shoot some 160 moly coated partitions that were also un-beleivable. Did ot chrono those but they were VERY accurate. .375 @ 200 yds. I found that rl 22 was best with lighter bullets, and 7828 with heavy bullets worked best. IMHA. Enjoy it and if you sell it, drop me a line. 7STW.gun)lightbulb P/S, rate of twist is 1 in 9

7MM STW-
haha...I don't believe I'll ever sell it. I think I found my new favorite gun! But if I do I'll let you know....don't hold your breath.
Do you use your rifle for hunting? I wanted to try some lighter (140-150 grn.) loads with it, but thought I would be better with the heavier loads for deer/elk? I could be wrong though. Thanks for the info on your loads.