7mm ultra mag

fordrulz

Hi im new to the reloading scene and have a few questions. I am going to reload my 7mm ultra magnum and use us869 powder and a hornady 162g sst bullet. I can not find any load data any were for this combo. does anyone have any experience with this combo? any info would be helpful. thanks chris

I don't have any personal experience with this cartridge but what I do is use data for a like weight bullet. Nosler lists data for us869 with there 160 grain bullet just start at the bottom and work up slowly. I usually do .5 grain increments.

Thanks guy's. What are some things to look for? Group size? Accuracy? How do you know when to increase of decrease the charge? Also not sure what to look for on the case itself after the shot. Sorry for all the questions! Thanks again.

You might steer clear of CCI250 primers with that powder. I had fourteen hangfires out of fifteen shots. I switched to Fed 215 Mag and never had another hangfire.

Do you have a load manual? If you do read the front on how to reload. It should tell you how to watch for signs of pressure. If you don't try doing a search in the upper right hand corner of lrh lots of good info there

Chris, you might rethink your powder choice with a 162 gr bullet. I just got through working up loads for my son's 7 RUM and found imr 7828 and Retumbo to be a better fit for the 168 Berger Hybrid I used. Please follow other's advice and do your homework with several manuals /much research before attempting to reload for this cartridge as it can really develop some crazy pressures if you're not really careful. You might try to find a local, experienced mentor to get you on the right track. Good Luck

lightbulbI see an opportunity here.......
Go with the IMR 7828. Retumbo sucks........at least if you all would accept that and quit using it maybe I could find some for myself :D

No seriously, don't know how important this may be, but IMR 7828 is more temperature sensitive.