7MM Reloading Dies

Johnfn

I am new to reloading. I have been doing tons of research over the last couple of weeks. I just bought a custom made Hill Country Rifle, used. I want to shoot the Berger 168 gr bullet.

In order to best optimize a load with the proper distance from the lands, what reloading die would you recommend? I have the Hornady OAL tool, so I can measure, I just want to be able to have a die that is easy to use to try different increments away from the lands.

Suggestions?

Any seat die will do what you want but the ones with the micrometer adjust make the job a bit easier. Forster Ultraseat Die and the Redding Micrometer Seat die are the best ones. The Hornady equivalent is sloppy by comparison. One important consideration is the seater cup (the part that engages the bullet). If you use a long pointy bullet you need to make sure the bullet tip does not bottom out on the seating stem. The cup should engage the bullet on the ogive.

Forster Ultraseater Die - more expensive but can make your reloading different depths easier.

"In order to best optimize a load with the proper distance from the lands, what reloading die would you recommend? "

No die has any particular advantage for obtaining "the proper distance from the lands". Those seaters with micrometer heads do make it a little easier to change seating by a specific amount but the 'best' OAL/bullet jump for sporter rifles with SAAMI chambers and common bullets really isn't terribly sensitive anyway.

Off the top of my head I can think of at least a half dozen 7mm cartridges; which are you using?

Last edited:
Thank you everyone! I am going to use Nosler Brass and the Berger 168 gr. This should be fun!

Hi John,