6.5x.284 Norma (Win) Hunting Loads

texfar

Good Morning all. Been lurking here for some time and am glad I have found this forum. Seems to fill an information niche I have been looking for with good input.

I have a custom 6.5x.284, Krieger 26" #5 contour 1-9 barrel on a Mauser action, Accurate Innovation Stock and Timney trigger.

I am new to this Caliber and have not found an over abundance of information available as with other calibers I use. I am looking for some information regarding hunting loads. I have loaded Nosler 130 Accubonds as first rounds down the tube with a group of .250" or less, using 46.1 grs of RL-19 with an OAL of 2.870, expected MV around 2700. I have loaded some Hornady 120 gr A-Max yet to be fired, (weather) using 44.0 grains of Varget for small critters, OAL 2.833. Will fire and Chrono both, hopefully tomorrow.

Looking for a mix of loads to try. All input appreciated. Looking for some very accurate 100 yard MOA stuff on my own range and will test all at long range later in the month.

Glad to be here all.

Ken

Thanks for the heads up Roe Buck. Will shoot over there (no pun intended) this evening and see what is available. What powder are you using with your 140 load??
Ken

PS, just noticed your location Roe Buck. Should have guessed by your handle. My better half is on the way just south of you, Northern part of England to see the kids next week. Home alone here with all my shooting tools for a while.

Last edited:
Thanks for the load Roninflag, am in progress getting some Lapua brass. In the mean time, I have sorted and fully prepped/neck-turned the Win brass I have. Looks like I will start out with about 44.grs of H 4350, which I have, and work from there. Sound about right?