6.5-06 AI 120gr Swift - Loads??

Aldon

I acquired a 6.5-06 AI with a 9 twist barrel. ADL, Hunting set up.

After some research I have set my mind on the 120gr Swift. Looks very similar to some TBBC's i have in appearance.

I can find all sorts of load data for the straight 6.5-06 and while I have Quickload, I am not experienced enough with it to extrapolate from regular -06 and AI does not look to be included.

Any ideas?

Poweder choices I have that I am thinking would work well are H4350, VArget, IMR4831 or H4831SC. I have RE22 as well.

I like the H4350 and Varget best for temp stability.....

I have the standard 6.5/06. From the powders you listed I would start with h4831 and r-22. With the 120g bullets you maybe able to use imr-4831 and even 4350 effectively. I use h-1000 and h4831sc in mine with outstanding results. I'm using the 139g Lapua silver scenar and the 140g Berger vld hunting bullet. I would start mid-range in the standard 6.5/06 data to start and work on up. IMR - Legendary Powders IMO you should take full advantage of the case volume in the AI and give the 140g class bullets a look at least. You should have no problem reaching 3,000fps safely in all likely hood. 9 twist is marginal for the 140g bullets but with the extra velocity available to you as your rifle being AI chamber they may very well be stable. At 3,000 fps muzzle velocity a 9 twist gives you 1.33 revolutions of the bullet every 12" and 4,000 revolutions of the bullet per second or 240,000 revolutions per minute. An 8 twist would give you a 1.5 revolutions per 12" and 4,500 rps and 270,000 rpm. Ymmv...

Thanks for the feedback.

I have a 6.5-06 set up with 8 twist with heavier barrel for beanfield and target shooting that I would use 140 bergers and shoot longer distances.

I plan on using this 9 twist AI for white tails less than 300 yds.