338 Lapua reloading questions

30mm Vulcan Cannon

1. What is the highest velocity you can safely and reasonably get out of 300 grain Berger OTM hybrids (I have read on other threads that this is the best bullet to use for reloading-at least in terms of accuracy). Is 2950 FPS feasible or too much? Or even 3000 FPS, feasible or too much?

2. I have some shot up (shot once) Hornady brass (I was using 285 grain factory ammo)-would this be good enough to use for reloads or should I just buy brand new Lapua brass?

I'm new to reloading but have multiple family members who can help me out and have most the necessary equipment

3. What all do I need besides the bullets, brass, primers, and dies?

Thanks!

If you are not working with an improved version I would say that 2900ish will be tops. If you are not using a chronograph for load development then make sure you stay within reloading manual specs. I would look into new Lapua brass. The other brass will work but will not last nearly as long. When you change brass you will have to re load develop.

Have fun.

Steve

No you can't fire 338 Lapua improved rounds in a standard Lapua chamber. I am currently getting 2930fps out of a standard Lapua with 300gr Berger tacticals out of a 30" barrel. Hornady cases will work but Lapua cases last longer. I am only on my 6th firing of my Lapua brass. A friend of mine got 22loadings out of his Lapua 338 brass before he tossed it and picked up another box.

No you can't fire 338 Lapua improved rounds in a standard Lapua chamber. I am currently getting 2930fps out of a standard Lapua with 300gr Berger tacticals out of a 30" barrel. Hornady cases will work but Lapua cases last longer. I am only on my 6th firing of my Lapua brass. A friend of mine got 22loadings out of his Lapua 338 brass before he tossed it and picked up another box.

How does that load perform for you?