338 Lapua Pet loads?

Weston

Hey guys,

I'm fairly new to reloading, but I have been loading as much as I can for practice, mostly .223 and some .45ACP I have a Savage 110 with the HS stock I bought on here a few months ago, I have been shooting the berger 300 grain hybrids and have about 100 left, I dont have any other bullets to try but will definitly try somthing else if need be. I do have a couple pounds of retumbo and a pound of h1000 to try. so far I just worked up to my max load I stopped at 93.5grains of retumbo after I got a sticky bolt on one of my 5 rounds.

I have been loading to 3.761 OAL which still fits in my magazine fine, and have been getting decent 1ish MOA groups although I havnt been shooting off a bench just a bi-pod and pack so I'm not really sure how well these shot, mostly just breaking in the bbl.

Was wondering what people were having luck with so I can try some of their loads and hopefully tweak from there, I am pretty limited budget wise being a full time student and working in an archery shop part time I dont have much time to be testing a bunch of loads all the time (or money). hopefully someone can give me an idea of what to start with, not super concerened with hitting a certain velocity although I do have a chronograph.

Thanks for your time,
Weston

I am interested in this too. About to start reloading for 338 lapua and 300 win mag.
Would like to find a starting place with primers and powder.

Thanks

Well I loaded up some retumbo and h1000 to try, I only got to shoot the 90 and 90.5 grain retumbo loads before it got way to windy to shoot, the 90.0 grain had 3 great shots 1.75" at 300 yards which I would be estatic with, however I had one flyer that was quite a bit low and right, (3 inches probably) the 90.5 didnt shoot too well, probably a 5" group I'm not sure if maybe the wind had somthing to do with it? Also, I'm concerned that my bullet needs to jump to far to reach the lands .053" any insight?