338 lapua custom ammo.

ndthwacker

Hey all,
I am new to this forum and fairly new to long range. So I will have alot of questions reguarding the 338 lapua. I just baught a custom 338 lapua, it was originally a 30-378 made by dana campbell from alaska before he passed away, it now is a 338lapua with a dakota action, and a 26in shillen barrel 1 10 twist. The rifle is still on its way. I have not started reloading yet, that will come into play within the next year. As for now I want to get some custom made ammo so I can shoot the gun some before I get into reloading for it. I will most likely shoot my deer with it this year. If you where going to get custom ammo made for it what would you go with I would like to stay around the 200 to 250 grain for deer. I know either way its overkill but what would be a good round for my set up. Thanks for the advice and I am open to all opinions as I am a rookie to this caliber. And also if anyone is wondering why a 338 lapua, I just had to have one I guess. Its not my only gun and wont be my last

I would look at the 210 or 225 grain Barnes TTSX, 215 grain sierra gameking, 225 grain SST, 225 grain accubond, or even the 225 grain speer spitzer. All would be a good choice for deer, what would your max range be?

My max range will most likely be around 600 650 depending if I can get confident with the gun by then

Then any of the above bullets would work great, what bullet do you plan to reload after you've shot the gun some?