300h&h

Dave Schenck

Greetings,
I am in the process of building a 300H&H and would love a little input from you men in the know. This is my first long range build and it is a budget build but luckily I have good friends who are also gunplumbers and are helping. I have secured a very good condition P14 action and I am thinking of putting a 1:10 twist barrel on it to stabilise the 180gr bullets of my choice - probably Sierra Game King at this stage (open to suggestions) although the 175gr SMK is also catching my eye as is the 185gr Berger. I want to hunt out to 400m but also be able to put those closer shots home without too much meat damage if body shots are needed.
Is this the right twist? Is the 200gr bullets better? All advise so far says go for the 180gr bullets? I am new at this so any suggestions will add to my knowledge base.

Great choice! I don't have the load in front of me, but a case full of H4831, with a Federal 215 primer topped with a 200 grain Accubond will give 2900 fps, ( 26") with great accuracy and positive lethality. I shot mine out, and rebarreled to 338 RUM, and still suffer buyers remorse at times. Nothing wrong with the .338 RUM, collection just feels incomplete without a .300 H&H. I'm eyeballing a Ruger number # 1.

Last edited:
Hi Dave,

While I personally don't own a .300 H&H, my best friend does and he loves his. His is a custom built off of a 98 Mauser Magnum action and has a Shilen 26" semi bull bbl on it. He's owned if for about 15 yrs and it has accounted for lots of game. It may be an old cartridge, it's still a good one.

He loads 165g, 180g and 190g bullets for it. I actually loaded him 100 rounds of 165g Swift Scricco II Bullets with 69g of IMR4350 and CCI250 primers, they were seated to fit his magazine. They clock at 3125fps and are a great load.

180g and 190g bullets use IMR4831 and you can't put enough powder in the case to over do it.

The 165g Sierra gamekings are also a good choice for this cartridge.

hope this helps,