300 win mag reloading with Nosler 200gr partition and H1000

bowhunter123456789

I'm fairly new to reloading , so I'm working up a load for my annual West Texas Aoudad , hog ,elk, mule deer ,white tail and mountain lion hunt, with a 300 win mag. My bullet is the 200 gr Nosler partition with H1000 powder. Starting load is 74 gr and max at 79gr. I had some time on my hands ,so I loaded up 3 rounds each of 77gr and 78gr . Fired the 77gr at 300yds getting velocity numbers at 2865,2897 and 2877Fps. New Win. brass and win. Large rifle mag primers , COAL is 3.340 which works great for my magazine . Here is a picture of the 77gr. 0604191344.jpg The lower left hole is from a fouling shot before the 3 at 77gr. The only sign of pressure was a slight cratering of the primer. I didn't shoot the 78 gr loads. So my question is , what should I do next? Load up .2gr above and below to see what I get? I have found that 3.340 COAL works best with my rifle. Thanks in advance for any and all comments.

I don't know if you just got lucky with that load or if there is something better.

New brass is going to give you a different "ideal" load than fired brass.

I've been having good experiences running a "Satterlee" test to find a velocity flat spot and then fine tune from there. One of our other members turned me into that. Thanks Deputy819!

The well known combo the the 300 WM is the Berger 215 hybrid with H1000 that will run at ~3,000 fps. The 215 has a G1 .691 compared to the partition G1 of .481, that is a HUGE difference.
posted previously;
-------------------------------------------------------
The well known combo for the 300Win and Berger 215 is H1000 215M between 76 gr and 77gr(high node) with the H1000 very near or above 3,000 fps, some higher, some lower. H1000 is among the most stable powders and hard to beat, especially in the higher temperatures we have out West. Almost every 300 WM Broz built ran the same numbers.
Check also on longrangeonly.com