300 savage reloading question

dale1386

I'm fairly new to reloading rifle ammo and I've got a question for the 300 savage guru's out there. This is what I'm trying to load......Hornady 150gr. RN bullets with 39.0 grains of IMR 4064 powder. I've checked the lands in my lever action 99 takedown and it's 2.640 give a thou or 2. and I had loaded a round with an OAL of 2.550 and noticed that there seem to be a lot of exposed bullet because I had my cases trimmed to the per Lyman 48th edition 1.865". I made my cases from 308 brass and trimmed to the Lyman spec so my question is would it hurt anything to just trim the re-formed 308 brass to say 1.950" so i could have more case neck on the bullet? I would still be well off the barrel lands. or would it be a pressure risk.
Thanks

No your max case length for the 300 Savage is 1.871 and you should trim them to 1.860 like you have. Your chamber length does not include the throat length. The throat is smaller in diameter than the neck portion of your chamber. Pay attention to if your COAL will work through your magazine when loading the bullet out long. From my experience never load a bullet closer than 10 thousands of the lands for a hunting round. Recoil can make rounds in the magazine move forward or you can make a slight mistake when seating the bullet etc. and end up sticking a bullet in the bore and pouring the action full of powder and not having a cleaning rod to poke the bullet out of the bore when you are out in the woods if you load the rifle up and walk to a tree stand, cross a fence etc. and have to unload the rifle. It can ruin a days hunt. Don't ask me how I know this. :rolleyes: By the way the 125 gr Nosler ballistic tip makes a great deer size game bullet out of the 300 Savage.

Thanks.......right now I'm .090" off the lands I was just hoping to get a little more neck on the round nose bullet without causing a safety problem for me or the gun.