280 Ackley Load Development

Jacko3006

Hi I'm new to the 280 AI and I was wondering if someone has a good starting point point for me to develop a load . I have on hand H1000 and IMR 7977 powders and planning on shooting ELDX 162 or Berger 168 VLD . The rifle is a custom built with a benchmark 1:9 @ 26"

thanks for your help!

I shoot 160 accubonds. I like them better than the eldx. The bonded bullet is more appealing, I use reloder 26 for my heavier bullets. I think h4831sc is the ticket for consistency and temp stability in this cartridge.

H1000 is a great powder for the .280AI.
Not the fastest speeds, but super stable, accurate, and clean burning. I use it for my personal 160 TMK loads. I would start around 56.0gr. Work up slowly. I am quite a bit over that charge, and getting 2991fps. You can check Berger or Hodgdon's load data for the .280Rem and start with the max load. Also, they probably have .280AI load data available too.
Another great powder is RL23. I just finished a buddy's .280AI w. 160 TMKs and getting 3025fps with absolutely no pressure from a 26" 1:9" barrel with only 24 rounds down it. It is a Tikka, so has to fit in the mag, but in a longer mag, could seat the bullet out further if needed.
I use RL23 under a 175 Elite @ 2975fps for my main hunting load. It is at the top end, but safe in my rifle.

26" barrel 1:9 (true twist 1:877")
162gn ELDX
61.5gns ADI 2213sc / H4831sc
Gets me 3026fps with low SD sitting on node 4.
Have pushed this with new brass to 62.4gns with slight ejector marks and with fired formed brass @62.4gns there isn't any marks at all and pressure should be under 65K PSI.

59gns ADI 2209 / H4350
Gets me 3020fps with similar sd.
Haven't played around with this load that much tbh but using GRT the z1/p1 are almost on top of each.

59.5 H-4831sc is close to max in one of mine. 162 eld-x @ 2920. 25" pipe. It ran the 168 vld at 2850.