257 Weatherby Vanguard ?

My Father inlaw won a Weatherby Vanguard in 257 Weatherby, after he priced ammo he gave it to me. It is a S1 with two position safety and black synthetic stock. I have no experience with Weatherbys and very little in building a rifle. My question is, is this rifle worth building into a some what light weight shooter. I think it would need restocked, new trigger and possible a new barrel in 280 ankle improved. I was just going to shoot it and see how it shoots, but after pricing dies wondering if I should just make this into something that I would actually use. Ive wanted a gun that would shoot out to 800, 900yds and still packable.

.280 Ackley Improved is going to require you to buy a new bolt, new magazine follower, and a new barrel.

The .280 AI is based off the .270 Win/.280 Rem/.30-06 family of cartridges. The .257 Weatherby is a belted magnum cartridge that is based off a shortened and necked-down .300 H&H. It uses a magnum bolt face and magnum magazine follower, and the cartridge falls into the same category (cartridge size-wise) as the 7mm RemMag/.270 Weatherby Mag/7mm Weatherby Mag.

Here's a comparison picture I found on google... Notice how much larger the .257 Wby case head and diameter is.

Left - .257 Weatherby
Right - .25-06

Best_hunting_cartridge.jpg

Now, that being said, you could always build a 7mm RemMag and you would only have to change the barrel.