243AI vs 243

the Ackley version of the .243 is improved barrel life. Although this goes against common sense because the AI gives a little higher velocity. It seems the shoulder geometry of the std. 243 forces powder and gases into the throat with more force than the sharp-shouldered AI version, which gives the 243W the reputation as a barrel-eater. Although this seems like it'd apply to all AIs, it is supposedly most measurable in the 243 version. Even if it's hogwash, the AI version makes sense from a case lifestandpoint alone (especially with your high volume of fire), even if the velocity increase and barrel life increase is negligable, especially if a rechamber or rebarrel is required anyway. I have little experience with either the 243 or 243AI, but other Ackleys I've played with were worth the effort. I think you made a good choice, assuming your rifle feeds well (and it should). Let us know how it does when you get it back.

morning, r u varmint hunting or all game usage? i had 2 AI's.
depending on the barrel twist will range bullet weight. both
AI's shot very well. low recoil if an issue. the US army
was testing the AI for use in sniping with 105gr. weight
range bullets. i would go with the 260AI. i also have
a 6mmAI. varmint config. just me. GBOT TUM

My perspectives always center on long term accuracy.
Lotta case life improvements with AI, but a 243AI is overbore in capacity(too big for 85gr bullets).
Consider going 260AI, as you can cover all a 243AI and your 6.5-284 could. It's perfect capacity for 26cal with ~140gr bullets.

My perspectives always center on long term accuracy.
Lotta case life improvements with AI, but a 243AI is overbore in capacity(too big for 85gr bullets).
Consider going 260AI, as you can cover all a 243AI and your 6.5-284 could. It's perfect capacity for 26cal with ~140gr bullets.