180gr Bergers in 7mm rem mag

ColoGuy970

I am new to the long range stuff. I am building a rifle to hunt with. I would like to keep it around 8lbs. I have seen too many big bulls that are out of range, I am solving that problem with this rifle build. I want to be comfortable out to 1k yards in the field. I am building this rifle to shoot the Berger 180s off of a blueprinted PTG action, vortex viper pst gen 2
5-25x50 ffp, and a timney trigger. That is where I am starting. I need to figure out my barrel, 26" bartlein 9:1? I am wondering if going with a 24" barrel is an option.

26" preferably, 24" will work . Since you're buying a new barrel, I would go with a 1/8 twist handle any bullet available.

The best advice I can give a new long range shooter is practice, practice and then practice some more. Regardless of the rifle in your hands , those big bulls are still out of range until you build the experience and confidence to take a long shot ethically.

1k is a tall order. Elk bullets at that kind of range start with a 3. This is my opinion and others will differ, but at that range velocities are getting slow and bullets that are bigger around work better. Since you are building new it might be worth looking at 300wm or 30 Nosler.

My .02

Steve

Since ur new to long range and adding to earlier suggestions. Get a heavy barrel practice rifle. 6.5, 308, whatever and practice with it. When ur hitting steel at 1k with it, you will know what kind of magnum you want to take game with at that range.
IMO I also think 8lbs is light for a lr rig. Ur gonna have a lot of different opinions on weight. But my 300wby loaded up weighs 13lbs and I wouldn't mind it to weigh 14.

Last edited: