Need Advice: New Long Range Muzzleloader

icon

I am fairly new to this site and have been hunting with a custom 7mm STW for a couple of years. The problem with long range hunting is that during the muzzleloading season, using production muzzleloaders is rather boring.

I have been looking around for an accurate long range muzzleloader and came across this site: www.badbullmuzzleloaders.com

Since I am a novice compared with most of you on this board, I thought you could tell me what you think of these guns. I have spoken with them on the phone and they are super nice and seem legit. I was hoping someone here might have some insight on these or similar muzzleloaders.

Thanks!
Shawn Murdock

I can understand your frustrations with a factory muzzleloader that is why in the last year I have dove off into the smokeless muzzleloader scene. I tried the custom black powder barrel on an encore with free-floated barrel with great results on the range. Although when it comes time to hunt, I hunt on a fouled barrel just like at the range. Well, in a day or so the barrel is rusted. Good luck trying to hit anything on a rusted barrel.

I have since then had a swing-lock muzzleloader built, although it is relatively expensive compared to a stock rifle, it is about half as much as a bad bull muzzleloader.

With the swing-lock I am getting 2800fps with a 250gr sst bullet. This has consistently grouped around 2 inches at 300 yards. When looking into the design of the rifle, it is well thought out. No ramrod affecting the harmonics which is conviently mounted through the stock. At any rate you need to check out their site, please let me know if you have any other questions.

Thanks for the feedback. Where do I go to read about swing-locks? By the way, I'll be zipping through El Reno next week on the way to hunt birds in Cheyenne.