March 2.5-25x52 vs….

shooters

I'm really wanting to purchase a March. I've no experience or have even held one. What I currently have are….

Kahles 318i, 525i, a few Swaro X5i's, a few ATACR's, NX8, Zeiss V6's and a handful of Mark5HD's.

The March is appealing due to its reliability, tracking, and mostly the size and weight. But, I've heard they suffer from poor eyebox, terribly touchy parallax and darkening over 20 power. So for those who own one, or have compared to the above scopes that I own, any infor or feedback would be great. I'm tired of slapping 30-38oz optics on full carbon builds, but don't want to suffer optically.

I just picked up my second March. Both of mine are 42MM objective. I haven't mounted the 2.5-25 yet but I was just playing with it. They eyebox does get a little touchy at max power but I don't see any darkening with either of the ones I have. I have carried the 3-24 March F on a bunch of backcountry hunts, a few times in a scabbard. It's seen it's share of abuse honestly a lot of that abuse was more than most optics probably experience- no problems. The parallax has not bothered me the way I hear others gripe. You go through a lot of focus range in a short amount of twist. Once you get used to it, it's not that bad.

Against the NX8 which I have never owned but looked through several - I did not like that scope as much as I wanted to. My take was that optically it wasn't as clear or crisp, equally as tight of an eye box (maybe tighter on the NX8) and didn't play with parallax enough to say.

Against the MK5 - This is like apples to oranges if you ask me. The MK5 is decent. Weighs a little less. Less magnification range. Bigger eye relief. Not as robust. Optically I guess on par with each other as far as clarity with maybe even a nod to Leopold on brightness/crispness, maybe.

My next build will be a 6.5x47 built heavy. I will put a 52MM March on it.