Which safe to buy

kbb468

I have been thinking about purchasing a safe for six years now (age of oldest boy). So now I am going to Make the move and buy one instead of just relying on a keyed lock on my reloading room door. I thought I would ask everyone here which safe I should considered between Stackon 13-20 conversion fire rated safe or the American Eagle fire rated safe? I can get either of these for the same price at my local sporting goods store.

Thanks,

Well it just so happens that I am a locksmith and I would be glad to answer any questions you have but I am unfamiliar with the specific features of each of these safes. (I'll try to look them up in the meantime). Could you post some of the detail comparasons you have, ie: one has internal hinges and the other dosent, or one has a Sargent & Greenleaf dial combo and the other combo is a no name brand.

Let me know what your concerns about each one are and I will gladly to offer some insight.

Thanks 4ked Horn for the respones.
This is all the information that I could find below.

The American eagle: 510 lbs
•Truelock internal hinges
•Equipped with a heat-activated cold smoke door seal that expand at 200° F and continues to expand up to 20 times it's size virtually sealing the safe closed
•Body 12 ga
•group 1 manipulation , resistant electronic lock set on 3 layers of 60 Rockwell hard-plate
•Sure-fire re-lockers, keep the safe locked even after the lock is removed

The Stackon:
•3-number combination lock with a drill resistant, hardened steel plate behind the lock
•utilizes 5 large, live-action steel locking bolts and 3 steel dead bolts to provide 8 locking points
•Solid steel, pry-resistant door and hinges are not internal.
•up to 1,400-degrees F for 1/2 hour, interior temperature remains below 350-degrees F