Where to next??? OAL or powder type?

twintips16

Hows it going guys!!

So this is my first post in the reloading section.... So eat me up!!! lol

I have been reloading for about ten years now and have never reloaded for "accuracy".

In the past i have loaded for several different rifles in the same caliber. I have always had to reload for friends and family and had to find loads that would work "good" over a broad spectrum of rifles.

I have never had a problem achieving 1 moa accuracy over all out of all the rifles. But i have never had the chance to reload for one rifle and fine tune it.

My question is where do you start to fine tune loads with a rifle.

The rifle in question is a custom made 7mm WSM. Im shooting the 160 accubond right now but have some bergers in route as i speak(180's and 168's)

I would like to make the accubonds work but am not settled on it.

I guess my post boils down to asking what first.

Do i mess with the OAL and find a seating depth that will work better with the rifle? Or do i load a bunch of different powders to see if it prefers one over the other.

I was thinking of loading 5 groups of 7 rounds each, and each group with a different OAL by .025. Same powder and charge. Shooting two groups of 3 with each one and seeing if there was a "sweet spot".

Would that be a bad first move?

My personal opinion is that OAL is a good place to start. Once you nail down an OAL range for each bullet type it typically won't change dramatically powder to powder. Hope that makes sense - different powders will give different results but your OAL "sweet spot" should be about the same (for each bullet).

I recommend measuring OAL to the bullet ogive, and always relating it to how far the bullet sits off of the lands of the rifling. This will help you better understand the different preferences of different bullets and will make your precision loading more repeatable.