What scale to trust...

cgarb

When I first started reloading, I bought a Lyman kit with a t-mag press and it came with a small digital scale. Has loaded many rounds, but sometimes it acts kind of fussy. It will get hung up on a grain and then jump a few tenths all at once when trickling in powder. Usually after it does that, i will rezero it out then put the charge back in and it may be off a few tenths. Then it may weigh 20 or 30 more and be fine. The loads it produces are accurate for hunting ammo, and my 308 loads for my FNA3G are very accurate, well under .5 MOA. I came across an older Redding manual scale so tonight I loaded some rounds and weighed charges on both. The redding consistantly weighs charges .2 of a grain light compared to the lyman digital. Both scales zero out fine. I am a machinist and a hotrodder so mechanical things make sense to me. The redding scale I can see work, and is pretty simple. To me it seems like it repeats better. Is my lyman scale not the best digital scale or do most people get vairiances like this?

II've been using the same RCBS 5-0-5 el cheappo deluxe for nearly 45 years...it has never failed me once !! My kids bought me two electronic scales, both have never been opened and by the looks of things never will until they inherit them back...guess I just don't trust them...I used that little junk scale for everything from my bench rest 6 PPC and BR and Dasher to my long range 7's and 300 mags...almost embarrassed to use it during matches but I love that little green junker !!

I have a Lee scale and a small digital. I have used both successfully, but have come to trust the Lee over the digital. I still sometimes weigh charges on both for comparison. Usually, if there is a difference between the two, I can re-calibrate the digital and they match again. Gravity is constant, electrons aren't. Plus, you have the possibility of interference from fluorescent lights, other electronics, etc with the digital scales.

FWIW