What do I need to know/do

bstomper

I reciently joind here and have been scouring the site looking for info and love it. I have a winchester model 70, 7mm rem mag. I have just been shooting factory loads since I got the rifle. It is my first new rifle I have owned. I want to get into longer shooting/hunting ranges so I need some better acuracy out of the rifle. And myself:rolleyes:. I am no expert by no means and I was needing some advice and info on what I need to do and know about the rifle and cartrages so that I can have it shooting more accuratly. I have read about guys getting work done to their rifles for better accuracy. What exactly gets done to them. Is the model 70 a rifle that this stuff can be done to and is it worth dioing to?
I have heard that hand loads will be more accurate than factory loads and will be a a big increase in accuracy. How do I know or find out what is the best bullets and loads for my rifle.
I don't mean to sound completly ignorrant on the subject but I just want to do more with this sport that what I have been doing which was going down to wallmart and getting amo and going hunting.
Thanks in advance for the replies.

Handloads definently, but you may have to try several bullets to figure out what it likes. A good stock. And most importantly the last few model 70s I've tinkered with you could pick the rifle up by the triigger and not make it fire, so trigger work or a swap is a definent.

Cool, Thats where I will start. What is a good place to start with on the hand loads, as in bullets and powder. Any sugestions. I have a buddy that has his own reloading stuff. All I need to do is purchase some 7mm dies.

As far as what can be done to the rifle, I just finished watching a 13 part video on you tube on the process on a remington 700. It's a little bit more than what I want to do. At least at this point anyway. But it does have me thinking because I do have my own lathe and some machining skills.