What am I doing wrong with sizing brass?

Hi guys,

I need some help. I've been reloading for about 8 years now. I've run into something that's got me totally frustrated. It's happened a couple of times and I'll be damned if I can figure out what it is.So I just prepped some once fired Norma 7 mag brass. Resized. Trimmed to length and chamfered with VLD trimming bit. Checked length and everything is perfect. Put in my 7 mag Hornady case gauge and fits perfect. I then charged the case and seated a 180 Berger VLD. The problem I have is after seating the bullet the round is not fitting into the case gauge. See pics below. The first 2 pics show the brass only in the case gauge and the last 2 are the completed round. I've had a similar situation recently with a 6.5 Creedmoor. It makes me think I'm not resizing the brass properly. I only full length resize all of my brass. I'm using Redding Master Hunter series dies. I also have a set of Lee and I got the same results. Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

View attachment 214779View attachment 214780View attachment 214781View attachment 214782

The gauges are good for AR, lever guns etc where you full length resize. Your rifle chamber is best to use for a gauge as it is unique. Must be neck dimensions . It is all you are effecting I believe...

I had this similar problem, but with a different caliber. I removed the firing pin assembly from my 700 and ran all the ammo through the chamber. I went through 800 rounds. About 75 rounds would not allow the bolt to close as it should or not at all.

I checked the neck diameters on the the good rounds vs the rounds that would not chamber and found the no chambering rounds were slightly larger that the good rounds. I pulled the bullet and saved the powder and punched out the primer. I then turned the necks only no sizing etc. Put all back together and it was not perfect.

So now after I reload a bunch of rounds I check them all before I go on a hunt.