taxidermy newb

lightflight

I didnt see a taxidermy section...so excuse me if this is missplaced.

It is my first year getting a bear tag. I have never had any previous taxidermy work done.

I would like to preserve my first bear hide upon success.

I live in socal and im looking around for taxidermist but see that most of them send out the hide to tanneries and just act as the middle man.

So I have been looking at maybe just cutting out the middle man and sending it direct to them.

My main concerns are fleshing. I don't know what i'm doing so for my first bear i would rather someone with experience do this.

What would be your recommendations be to a complete Newb like me. I just want to preserve the complete bear hide. dont want a rug just soft hide that I could whip out and show the kids. I would like to just send it somewhere with confidence

My suggestion is to go ahead and have a professional taxidermist to flesh and send the hide to the tanners.

The reason I suggest this is the taxidermist knows the proper way to flesh and preserve the hide to ensure the hide doesn't go rancid or spoil to the point of hair slippage. The taxidermist will also flesh the paws out and wire the claws so they are not lost during the shipping/processing part.

Also, like I did with my first Cali bear, (taken near the Paradise/Forest ranch area East of Chico CA) I had the taxidermist boil and bleach the skull. I believe the money paid for the rug and skull work is well worth the trophy I got in return.

I am sure that if you do research into the process of prepping the hide for tanning you will be able to do it yourself.

One thing I just thought of but may be no worry is, can a person ship animal parts without certain permits/licenses? I don't know for sure. You may want to find out before you do anything else.