Stupid Question

jkward

I am trying to mount a scope, I bought Leupold bases and rings. But I am only able to achieve approximately 12 MOA up and 70 MOA down with my scope. I used a ballistics calculator and with my rifle and the ammo I am using that is not nearly enough for the distance I want to shoot. I am sure that there is a simple solution, but this is my first build and I'm lost. Thanks for any help.

Mount the scope, take it out and shoot at 50yards, then 100. I would use a tall target and aim at the very bottom at 50yrds. I would imagine your scope is already dialed all the way up. Just spin it a few revs down so your in the center and have about 40 either way. Should get. You on paper at 50.

I am trying to mount a scope, I bought Leupold bases and rings. But I am only able to achieve approximately 12 MOA up and 70 MOA down with my scope. I used a ballistics calculator and with my rifle and the ammo I am using that is not nearly enough for the distance I want to shoot. I am sure that there is a simple solution, but this is my first build and I'm lost. Thanks for any help.

Hmmmmm, not sure I 'fully' understand the situation. Its a bit early here and I was up late........

12 up and 70 down = 90 total.

Figuring that you have zeroed at some distance and get the 12 up/70 down from the zeroed turret setting something is amiss. One would think the zero setting would be a bit more towards the center (45 up and down).

The plane of the action seems canted, the wrong way??

If two piece bases are being used the scope may be in a bit of a bind.

A visit to a local reputable gun smith may be in order.

Isn't the shooting sport such fun.....:)

12 MOA won't be very fun, something must be out of wack. It sounds like your using two piece base, is there a front one and a back one? Kinda sounds like a canted base on backwards or two different height bases reversed in what position they should be on the action.