Savage scope mounts.

Discussion in 'Long Range Hunting & Shooting' started by Scott E, Feb 9, 2004.

1. Scott E

Scott E Member

I recently bought a new Savage 110 FP tatical rifle in 7Mag. I'm having a hard time finding bases to mount my scope with. I tried a leupold one piece no good Weaver type no good. I've had to settle for a Leupold 2 piece which I do not like. Where and what type should I get? Keep in mind this is my first attempt at a long range rifle. Thanks for your help.
    Scott

2. p dog shooter

p dog shooter Well-Known Member

What is wrong with leupold and the weavers I have both types on my savgae rifles and they work out. I find that with most savages I had to slim the back scope mount to get the proper elevation.

3. Scott E

Scott E Member

The Leupold was to short The one I had was the standard 110 one piece base. When i went back today I took the one piece up to the gun counter to try it on a regular 110 rifle and it didn't fit it either. The Weaver the Bass Pro only had the 2 piece bases. I may be doing something wrong but I have a one piece on my Weatherby.

4. p dog shooter

p dog shooter Well-Known Member

Why don't you ask them to find one the fits if they have savages at the store they should be able to do that. It woulnd't be the first time the wrong mount got into the wrong package.

5. Guest

Guest Guest

Try www.kenfarrell.com
    They list a one piece weaver style base for Savages. I'm going to try on on my 10FP.
    Wayne

6. skidlyman

skidlyman Well-Known Member

I didn't realize they sold the 110 tactical in a 7mm, thought only 223, 308 and 300wm. I want one in a 300rum myself looks like a great firearm

7. Scott E

Scott E Member