Savage Long Range Hunter Scope/Mounting

jeremyd4l

Hello,
I am new to hunting style rifles and scopes in general. I have been shooting for years but handguns and AR rifles with red dots, and then my friends rifles. I may sound like a total idiot, but I am ok with that, everyone was at this point one time or another.

I just bought a Savage Long Range Hunter 11/111 7mm Rem Mag and also a Vortex Viper 6.5-20X50 scope. My goal is to reach 1000+ yards but I know that will take time. I do want to also go down as close as 100 yards for target and potential hunting reasons.

I bought the Weaver Extended Multi Slot 20 MOA mount and Weaver 30mm Tactical Rings that are LOW (1/4" I believe). When I was doing research I saw I believe the same set up and it seemed to fit good, but I don't know if that would go down to 100 yards. Do I need 20 MOA for 1000 yards with a 7mm and that scope? The scope is a mil-dot so I can always use those as my zero if NEED BE but I would rather it center for my zero.

I emailed Vortex and they said Medium rings would work good but that was with a 0 MOA so I am wondering if that 20 MOA counter acts the Med Rings.

Also I am going to have the Caps on the scope so I would need enough clearance for those to slide on.

If anyone could help with those few questions that would be good.

Thanks, and I thanks for having me on here.

I have a 7RM and the same scope. If you handload and can get your FPS up above what normal factory ammo produces and shoot a bullet with a decent BC you will be ok at 1,000 yards, IMO. I had a 0 moa rail originally but it topped out at about 850 yards with the 162 AMAX and 775 with the 162 SST.

A 200 yard zero works good for the occasional 100 yard shot and makes it a little easier to get out to 1,000.

You can get a 10 or 15 moa rail if that works better for your setup.