Safe minimum loads...double detonation??

This post does a good job of explaining detonation, at least how I have always understood it.

Now he goes into cartridges that I have no experience with, but the idea is the same, too little powder can create an over pressure situation.

http://www.longrangehunting.com/forums/f19/rem-700-action-limits-52987/index2.html#post363229

Except that it doesn't work that way.

There are lots of factory loads that do not fill the case, or even come close to filling the cases... and there are hand loads that do not come close to filling the case, and they do not have these problems at all.

I didn't think it was the air in the case that caused the issue. I thought it was the large surface of powder that could be ignited by the primer causing it to burn faster.

It is actually, both more surface the faster the burn and the more oxygen to come in tack with the powder increasing the burn rate, and changing the flame fronts consistency. The best, most consistent powder charges are 98 to 100+% density because this increases the control of the burn rate.

Another thing mentioned was the lack of 100% case density in factory loads. it is true that lots of loads including factory loads don't have 100% case density but rarely do they have less than 85% density for the reasons discussed.

J E CUSTOM

You must have missed out on 10th grade chemistry.

Smokeless powder (C6H7(NO2)3O5) contains more oxygen that it can use when it breaks down.

6 carbons
7 hydrogen
3 Nitrogen
11 oxygen

So, when the heat and flame are done, there is still unused-uncombined oxygen left over. It does not use "air" in the process.

I am not even going to respond to this crap. (We find it in corrals where we keep horses) except to say, you missed out on reloading 101 and if you reload, please let the membership know when and where you will be at the range so we can call 911 for you.

As to the education, you have shone what you missed out on, not me.