Question on neck sizing and tension . . .

I'm new to reloading, and very much appreciate the quality of posts in this forum, so I hope this question is relevant to you all.

I'm noticing much more consistency in my neck concentricity (.223 rem) when using a full-length die with a carbide size button (as opposed to just neck sizing). The button in the FL die measures .222, while the expander I have used in the past (when just neck sizing) measures .223, and of course, the expander is much longer, which I expect would leave the necks with even less tension.

Question is, how much neck tension am I looking for? Should I also use the neck expanding mandrel after FL resizing with the carbide button expander?

And, is the only way to really test this to do a series of loads using both, and watch to see when I am starting to build higher pressures with each case prep technique?

Thanks for any insights folks wish to share,
George

1. A neck sizing die does not fully support the case body and will have more neck rouout.

2. At the Whidden custom die website they tell you they get the most concentric ammunition using full length non-bushing dies.
(the case body and case neck are fully supported and aligned.

3. I get the most concentric ammunition using Forster full length benchrest dies with the high mounted floating expander. The expander enters the case neck while the neck is still held and centered in the neck of the die. And this prevent the expander from pulling the necks off center.

4. I get the most neck runout using a Forster bushing bump die because the case body is not supported. And when sizing down the case neck over .004 using a bushing die it can induce neck runout.

Y7Iyv8o.jpg

Don't tell Redding I put a Forster expander and spindle assembly on a Redding die. A rubber o-ring is under the lock ring that allows the expander to float and self center. This expander has far less drag on the inside of the neck and now produces very concentric sized cases.