Primer Pocket Repair

Chase723

I ran into this video this morning and it potentially seems like a good idea. I've been reloading for 10 years now and have never seen this. For anyone that has done it, at what point do you then start retiring brass? After one repair cycle? Two? Do you start cutting cases in half at some point and looking for incipient case head separations?

Oh, here we go again. Grab the popcorn fenix!
You are going to get heated debate comments on this subject.
Some swear this works, others swear it's a horrible idea. Use your own judgment I guess, but im not a fan of "fixing" loose primer pockets

@phorwath I found an old thread that looked like you were using this with some success. What's your verdict on it? What cartridges have you used it on?

Thanks,

Chase

Thank you. Totally understand all of that. I just know people have tried it and am soliciting those experiences. Sometimes theory is spot on and sometimes it just creates a unjustified fear/concern that doesn't manifest in reality. The expansion of the case web your drawings (pretty good BTW!) illustrate could also theoretically be prevented by a "sleeve" over the case...might be unnecessary however that's ultimately the point of this thread. Appreciate your contributions.

@phorwath I found an old thread that looked like you were using this with some success. What's your verdict on it? What cartridges have you used it on?

Thanks,

Chase
Yes, I've used the method on a number of different cartridges. It restores loosened primer pockets and allows continued use of cases that would otherwise risk gas leakage and damage to bolt faces.