Paper tuning question.

leagle77

I have some really basic questions that didn't seem to be addressed elsewhere in the forum. I'm new to crossbows but have some experience setting up compund bows. Because the nock point is "fixed" on my TAC15i, am I correct in assuming that all paper tuning adjustments are done with the rest? Years ago I used a 6 Ft compressed bale of styrofoam (rejects from the local solo cup factrory) as a back stop during paper tuning. I no longer have the bale and don't have access to an indoor range. Can I paper tune using a low frame in front of a "block" type target from the prone position using a bi pod? Any suggestions for a better set up as a back stop? Thanks for any advice.

Leagle77 -

For the backstop, I used the Yellowjacket Crossbow Target. It works great for field points and I use a Rhineheart Block for broadheads.

I have a small shed I built which has straw bales in the back and the target suspended from the ceiling so the center is about 4 ft off the ground. But you could rest the target on the ground if you have plenty of room behind the target for an errant arrow !!

I shoot from a sitting position resting the x-bow on the back of a bench. I have also shot from the prone position which for me is the most solid.

I built a paper hanger from PVC pipe that I setup about 5 ft in front of the rest. It is about 24" square and I tape some paper to the sides.

As for Paper tuning you only have 2 options available to change. The knock position for Horizontal adjustment and the Whisker biscuit rest for Vertical adjustment.