Newby with 300 WSM

Cheers Britz

Yes thats interesting. My theory is using N560 to get the velocity but I have little experience with this powder. Plenty of experience with the 1 series but not the double base stuff.

Anyway not sure when i will get chance to do down the range next I am too busy stalking at the moment.

Thanks again

JB

300 Wsm

I shoot a heavy barreled 300 WSM for my long range deer rifle. I consider long range to be 600-700 yards. I am very effective with mine out to 600 yards. Hopefully by this coming season I will be proficient at 700 yards. Each 100 yards is really a milestone, if you want to be consistent. I think you are being a bit hopeful with a light rifle out to 1,000 yards, but that is just my opinion. I am sure there are people who can do it, but not I.

I started loading 155 grain Sierra Palma's in my 300 WSM. I am loading it with H-414, with great results. I am getting a little extra velocity with the H-414.

I am not a believer in the expensive bullets you talked about. I pretty much see them as marketing hype. But then again that is my opinion, not necessarily a fact.

My longest kill so far was on a nice 8-point in WV at 375 yards. The buck never knew what hit him. I have killed several deer with this setup(been using it for two years), and I have found the Palma's very effective on deer. Tom.