Newby...going all in...missing anything?

sanjuanfly

I'm new to reloading, but have decided that it is something I would enjoy for hunting and LR shooting. So I bought:
- Forster CO-AX
- Redding 3 die set (338 RUM)
- Forster large caliber jaws
- RCBS Chargemaster 1500 scale
- calipers
- Nosler reloading book
- Nosler 180 grain 338 bullets
- Nosler 250 grain 338 bullets
- 1# 7828 powder
- 1# R22 powder
- 2000 Federal GM215M primers
- 100 Remington brass new
- Reloading trays
- Deburring tools
- Primer pocket cleaner
- Some other misc. tools and boxes

So will I need a case trimer for the new brass? Any other necessities or niceties that I'm missing?

Thanks
Scottr

Looks like you have a darn good start! I would say yes to the case trimmer. You will definitely need that at some point.

One thing I would add to the list is the Hornady O.A.L. Gauge. Seating depth is so important and this gives you a way to measure that in reference to you rifle/bullet combo. Early on in my Handloading days I didn't much care about seating depth but several hundred rounds later and many wasted range trips I am now much wiser. I use my Hornady O.A.L Gauge almost every time I start developing a new load.

6mmBR.com Reviews of Reloading tools, Bipods Harris Pod-loc, Cleaning Supplies, Redding Wilson Dies, K&M Tools, Neck turning Tools, Shooting Accessories and supplies.

Oh and one other thing I wish I would have done earlier on...Start record keeping for everything!

My $.02

Last edited:
for a large round go with 8 lbs of powder so you get more time out of it before changing powder lots which can burn differently you will go through 1 pound of those fast in a rum.

+1 on the notes write it ALL down save your targets. not just powder charge and oal i mean primer brass with lots powder with lot # environmental conditions when shooting etc...

enjoy the ride.
d

Thanks for the feedback. I like the idea of keeping a log and the 8# powders.