new to long range shooting.

joeskyline06

i have been shooting for like 11 -12 years and i just turned 18 a few weeks ago and i decided i wanted to buy my own gun in my own name and start shooting long range. i was just woundering if anyone could tell me what to expect outta my gun/scope and give me any helpful hints.
gun- savage model 10 .308 (with bipod)
scope- bsa mil-dot 6-24
then i bought 2 types of ammo. i have a pack of 50 georga arms 308's that are 150 gr b. tips and i bought a box of the federal gold match's

The newer Savage rifles generally shoot pretty good. BSA scopes are a little uncommon around here, but that doesn't mean it won't work. I wouldn't rely on it for continued dialing in elevation or windage, but if you get a good zero than it may hold it fairly well so I would utilize the power setting and the mildot for hold over rather than adjusting the knobs for distance shooting.

As for the ammo, every rifle has it's own "taste", so you will just have to try some out. Some will shoot better than others in any particular rifle. 308 has about the best selection for match grade ammo available from the factory so that is good.

Only one way to find out so go ahead and shoot some ;)

i have had 3 bushnells now and every one of them is messed up from the factory. i have swarn to never go back to bushnell. eventually i will save up enought to get a good scope but i just bought that to have untill i get a new one. any other suggestions on scopes?