new rifle

pat86004

I bought a new rifle today, a used savage 110 in 7mm rem mag. It's the wood stocked variety and seemed like a really nice rifle. I mounted a cheap scope I had laying around. (Won't tell you what brand, it's embarrassing) and went out shooting. After I got it zeroed, I started shooting for a group. My best three shot group was just at or a little under an inch. I would have exact measurements except I didn't have my calipers when I was out, and the target flew out of the back of my truck on the way home, due to me not zipping up the duffel bag I take when I shoot. The only problem I had (and I think likely the reason the rifle was a bargain) was that someone had kinda wrenched on the accu trigger to make it lighter and sometimes closing the bolt would trip the trigger. I backed it off 1/8 of a turn and now I can't make it malfunction, and I can't tell the difference in pull weight. One of these days I'll put a real scope on it, until then it should tackle most anything I need it to. The only thing I'd like to change right away is the plastic butt plate, any suggestions on a brand of recoil pad? Overall, I'm a pretty happy camper.

In all honesty.....the recoil while a bit excessive, bothered me less then the length of pull. I think a recoil pad would fix that right up. Anything else I should do to improve on the rifle? I was thinking about bedding the recoil lug and maybe getting a pillar bedding kit.