New member - .243 rifle recommendations?

wirehairs

Hi. I've been hunting for almost 40 years, archery and gun. While I have a variety of shotguns (it's also slugs only where I live in Minnesota), I've relied only on a Browning A-bolt in 30/06 for elk and deer and moose.

I've decided I'd like to buy another rifle for coyotes, wild pigs, pronghorns... You get the idea. So, my first question, is a .243 a good choice as a 2nd rifle to cover all my needs?

If it is, then I was considering the Browning x-bolt with the black synthetic stock and muzzle brake. Or I'd consider the Hell's Canyon as well. However, since I already own several Brownings, I'd also consider a Sako. My only criteria is that it be available with a synthetic stock, shoot well with factory ammo, and be under $1200 or so. I look forward to your suggestions.

I appreciate the wealth of expertise on this site!

welcome to the forum. being an avid Savage fan you know what i'm going to suggest. Savages are some of the best shooting guns right out of the box and don't cost big bucks. the 243 would be an excellent choice but i would recommend the 7/08 as well, it has little kick to it and it's a great all around caliber.

Bruce

morning, very good choice, preference, Remington 700 or 721. 700 varminter. Ruger

M77 varminter. or build ur own. 5.5 Hart barrel, ss, straight contour. fitted and

chambered. H&S stock. timmey trigger. u will not go wrong. get the fast twist. 77gr

to 105gr bullets. u will spend about the same amount of $$, I have one

remington 721 action AI.lightbulb:)gun)

Tikka T3 , either .243 or 7-08.

+1