Magazine Limitations / Berger 215 Hybrid

Blaze Orange

I'm looking to explore the long range capabilities of .300 Win Mag Model 70 from the late '70s/early 80's. Max length the magazine could handle would be around 3.375" likely a bit less.

While the goal is "one and done", I would like the speed and convenience of a magazine if possible.

I'm just beginning my journey into reloading and have read a lot of good things about the Berger 215 Hybrid. But with reported COALs of around 3.600" that sounds like a problem.

Is it possible to load high BC bullets for a factory magazine as short as mine and still get high velocity and tight groups?

Are there gunsmithing options I could look into?

Any help much appreciated.

The first questions that have to be answered involve your chamber dimensions. How far out can you seat the bullet before it contacts the rifling? What is the preferred (most accurate) seating depth with that bullet in your rifle?

Once you know the answers to those questions, then you can begin to consider where those numbers fall relative to available mag length. If your most accurate load with your chosen bullet is longer than mag length, you may be able to extend your mag length by having a Wyatt's Extended Mag Box installed, which reportedly allows max OAL of around 3.850.

It all depends on whether or not you feel you can live with single loading your long range rounds or not. If you just can't live without using your rifle as a repeater, then the Wyatt's mag box is probably for you.

You're right, whether it will fit in the mag is not the only consideration. :)

Been using factory loads all my life. I'm just getting started down the path of reloading. Ordered my first two reloading manuals a couple days ago, looking at presses, etc. This seems like the first obvious problem hand loading longer, sleeker bullets.