Looking for a scope

Walker1

I am new to this longrange stuff. I am building a Savage 6.5Creedmoor. It will be my longrange coyote killer and plinker out to 800-1000yrds. I have no idea what scope to put on it. I have been reading about this Sightron-http://www.sightron.com/index.php?action=view_document&did=1201816362&cat_id=6&id=168
and also about the Vortex Viper PST 6-24x50.
Not sure which would better suite my needs. The two scopes that I currently have is a Leupold VX3 in 4.5-14x50 Varmint Reticle. I use this on my 22-250 and have killed many coyotes and rabbits with it. My personal best is a rabbit at 522yrds. My other scope is a Zeiss Conquest in 4.5-14x44 with
Z-Plex. I use this on my 7mmRemMag big game rifle. I put target turrets on it but still dialling it in. Farthest shot with this one is about 350yrds. I will say that the Zeiss glass is much better to me. I like to use max power on both scopes if I am out past 200yrds. I use a Zeiss rangfinder to judge my yardage.

Anybody have any thoughts or other suggestions?

Last edited by a moderator:
I have the 6-24X50 FFP PST mil/mil mounted on my 7mm rem mag and "It Rocks". I really love it. I'm about to get the 4-16X50 for my .243 win. There's an app for iPhone/iPod touch/iPad that works great for shooting. I selected the Mil reticle because it has more references than the MOA and when using this app you don't even have to touch the knobs. I strongly recommend this scope, you won't go wrong. By the way, the app is called "JBM Ballistics". It's not cheap, but it works great.

I have the Vortex Viper PST 6-24x50 FFP EBR-1 MOA Reticle on my Remington 700 LSS 257 Weatherby Mag.

I absolutely love it.

You will not regret getting it.

You ould check out the new Weaver Tactical 3-15 or 4-20x50. Getting some great reviews... build like a friggin rock, so I hear. Just a thought.

BTW, you can find them for about $650 if you look around.

Good luck,

-Mega