Looking for a New Lathe

Clay Target Guy

I have an older LeBlond now that is getting long in the tooth so I am thinking about buying another lathe.
Looking at the Grizzly Gunsmith lathe, Sharp, or if I can find a good clean used old lathe, that would be fine as well.
I am not a professional gunsmith, but have chambered and trued a few actions for myself.
I am/was a tool and die maker for a long time but I want a good solid lathe to pittle with at home.
Anyone have first hand knowledge on the Grizzly, or Sharp lathe, or know where there is a good clean older lathe?
I am looking for a 13x40, 14x40 size tool room lathe and not the bench type.

Thanks
John

I have an older LeBlond now that is getting long in the tooth so I am thinking about buying another lathe.
Looking at the Grizzly Gunsmith lathe, Sharp, or if I can find a good clean used old lathe, that would be fine as well.
I am not a professional gunsmith, but have chambered and trued a few actions for myself.
I am/was a tool and die maker for a long time but I want a good solid lathe to pittle with at home.
Anyone have first hand knowledge on the Grizzly, or Sharp lathe, or know where there is a good clean older lathe?
I am looking for a 13x40, 14x40 size tool room lathe and not the bench type.

Thanks
John
Speedy went with the Grizzly. I would to if I had a bigger shop.

I used a South Bend 12x36 , 1946 model, for years. and after much research, purchased Eisen 14x40 E series last year. very pleased with it.

I purchased South Bend thru Gov't surplus auction site from college physics lab,
every tool/accessory possible, and in extremely good shape, so there out there but hard to find.

Got one more to throw into the mix, local machine supply house is going out of business and has a JET GHB1340A new in the box for around $3300.

What say you about this with respect to the other options talked about?

Thanks
John

Clay Target Guy,