long range on a budget

sidewinder

Hello everyone! I'm new to this sight and finding it a wealth of information.
I am a 7mag freak,but want to take a step up. I thought maybe a .308 warbird in a TRG-S or a Rem. Sendero in 300RUM. The 700 BDL will save me a pound because I am quite mobile,but the heavier rifle will probably help with the recoil and I'm not too crazy about muzzle brakes. I would like to stick with a factory case even though I have 4 machines on my bench and love to reload.
I have read that you do not get the speed out of the Sako's like the Lazzeroni's even though the barrel on the TRG-S is only 1" shorter than a Lazzeroni.(which is out of my price range anyway)
The reloading data on this sight for the 300rum is a bit higher than what I have seen before. The rifle that was used was a sendero and it makes the 300 look quite appealing. (the brass is cheaper too!)
What do you guys think? I've also toyed with the idea of a .338rum. Then top whatever I end up with a Zeiss Conquest 4.5x14 w/mill dots.

I wonder if the slow twist on the Lazz barrels helps them keep pressure down and get better velocities. I assume the TRG-s twist is faster?

Thanks for the reply Len. The article I read that in was shooting times. The test rifles were a 2000 lazz 27" 6 groove 1:12 twist vs TRG-S w/26" 4 groove 1:11.They state that the 4 groove 1:11 seems to be consistantly slower than the 6 g 1:12. Sako uses that barrel because they feel the 4 groove barrel will give a little more barrel life. Sounds to me like I'll be lucky to get 1000 rds out of any of them including the 300rum. Maybe I'll just shoot the barrel out of a 300rum and have it improved. I failed to mention the test was done using a 7mm firebird. You got me thinking where I read that and I started digging and I found it in the sept/oct 2002 s/t. Got stuff spread everywhere lookin.